Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Youth PROMISE Update - 31 New Cosponsors in May!

The community is having a huge impact! The concerted effort to lobby Representatives in the House since the Youth PROMISE act (H.R. 1064) was first introduced has lead to some very encouraging results. In the month of May alone, 31 new co-sponsors have signed on, bringing the total number of cosponsors to 115, representing 26% of the 435 delegates in the House! The following list shows the new cosponsors who have signed on in May. If any of these visionary supporters represents your district, please send them a note or call them to say "Thanks" for standing up to reduce violence. If your Representative has not yet signed on, send them a note through asking them to do so.

Representative State/District
Rep Pastor, Ed AZ-4
Rep Sherman, Brad CA-27
Rep Berman, Howard L. CA-28
Rep Richardson, Laura CA-37
Rep Davis, Susan A. CA-53
Rep Miller, George CA-7
Rep DeLauro, Rosa L. CT-3
Rep Meek, Kendrick B. FL-17
Rep Wexler, Robert FL-19
Rep Hare, Phil IL-17
Rep Gutierrez, Luis V. IL-4
Rep Souder, Mark E. IN-3
Rep Capuano, Michael E. MA-8
Rep Edwards, Donna F. MD-4
Rep Van Hollen, Chris MD-8
Rep Thompson, Bennie G. MS-2
Rep Jones, Walter B., Jr. NC-3
Rep Sires, Albio NJ-13
Rep Bishop, Timothy H. NY-1
Rep Towns, Edolphus NY-10
Rep Israel, Steve NY-2
Rep Slaughter, Louise McIntosh NY-28
Rep Driehaus, Steve OH-1
Rep Fudge, Marcia L. OH-11
Rep Schwartz, Allyson Y. PA-13
Rep Doyle, Michael F. PA-14
Rep Langevin, James R. RI-2
Rep Rodriguez, Ciro D. TX-23
Rep Nye, Glenn C., III VA-2
Rep Perriello, Thomas S.P. VA-5
Rep Boucher, Rick VA-9

Late update: As this post was going to press, we found out that an additional 4 new cosponsors have signed on to H.R. 1064, bringing the total to 119 cosponsors. Again, if any of these people is your Representative, please send them some love.

Representative State/District
Rep Waxman, Henry A. CA-30
Rep Platts, Todd Russell PA-19
Rep Wittman, Robert J. VA-1
Rep Wolf, Frank R. VA-10

Visit DoPeace


Post a Comment